PDA

View Full Version : An Old Topic that needs clarification

Ruler 79
May 3rd, 2006, 01:59 PM
I am pretty new to AGS so forgive me as I know this has been beaten to death. I don't understand this AE/CAA confrence re-alignment thing I keep reading about on various boards.

Now you may or may not know but I am an Albany fan so I have a vested intrest. SBU jumping from the NEC confrence and with UA soon to follow is a dangerous proposition correct? If AE Football comes around (I read everywhere it is a long shot at best) then that makes a great transition to full scholarship football for both UA and SBU and possibly CCSU, Monmouth etc. If not, (and this is a part that confuses me, which by the way is not hard to do) then they need Old Dominion and GSU to joint the CAA so they will be able to have a North and South Confrence and UA and SBU will join that?????? if the answer to this question is NO, then UA and SBU would have to be independent until a new confrence , if ever, is announced? I have heard and read so many scenarios my head is spinning. So if I can just re-open this topic one last time I would appreciate the input to better understand the moving parts.

Thanks.

GannonFan
May 3rd, 2006, 02:17 PM
Right now, the CAA has 12 football playing teams amongst full time (all sports) members and affiliates. ODU is to start playing football in 2009, although when they will play a full CAA conference schedule is an unknown, but probably close to 2009.

There are 2 teams right now that play in the AEast (Maine and UNH), and there are 2 other New England teams that are CAA affiliates (UMass and URI who play in the A10 for everything else).

One scenario is the affiliates leave the CAA and join with Albany, Stony Brook (and maybe Monmouth and CCSU) to join a new AEast conference.