PDA

View Full Version : Bands

saxbison
July 18th, 2011, 03:02 PM
Hello All,

I'm new to AGS and I was inspired by the earlier band thread.

What is the importance of the university's marching band to your program?

Redhawk2010
July 18th, 2011, 03:25 PM
I'll never forget our band. For one, they go by the "Golden Eagles" even though SEMO has never had that as a mascot. We were the Indians until 2005 when we became the Redhawks. In 2008, we played Tennessee Tech on ESPNU on a Thursday night. Lost by 2 in a down-to-the-wire game. The band did their normal cheer after the alma mater and fight song. And ended with "Hail the Golden Eagles!" National TV our band just cheered for the opponent who beat us...

blaw0203
July 18th, 2011, 04:14 PM
The Marching 100 is the band of Florida A&M University. The 100 are quite possibly the most known band in the world and is one of the main reasons fans come to our games. During half-time, NO ONE LEAVES THEIR SEATS! Our band has performed at numerous super-bowls, the grammys, several inaugurations, been in movies, commercials, and have had lengthy features done by 20/20, 60 Minutes, CBS Evening News, and more. Other highlights include many international trips including being selected to represent the USA in Paris France for their Bi-Cencennial Celebration and being awarded the coveted Sudler Trophy. The 100 has also been credited with creating numerous techniques that are now common-place for collegiate and high school marching bands everywhere. So in a nutshell, they are EXTREMELY IMPORTANT to our school and football program!

Twentysix
July 18th, 2011, 04:17 PM