PDA

View Full Version : Jackson State Recruiting 2008

jstate83
January 23rd, 2008, 08:55 AM
Jackson State Commitment's.

Commits for the Jackson State football team continue to file in with just two weekends left before the Feb. 6 signing day. The Tigers coaching staff will lose a weekend to host recruits when it coaches in the American Heritage Bowl on Saturday.

JSU has received commits from its second and third offensive linemen from the College of Sequoias. Tackle Demarcus Pace (6 feet 5, 290 pounds) confirmed that he'll be coming to Jackson and added that center Larry Landry (6-2, 275) will also. Guard Ben Walker (6-2, 330) was the first signee of this recruiting class.

"To be able to come back to the South, I really miss being back home," said Pace, a Little Rock, Ark., native. "When I step out on the field I'm a totally different guy. I'm a student/athlete. I'm going to school to major in criminal justice and minor in business management. On the field, you don't even want to see me on the field."

The Lackawanna College pipeline is still flowing as quarterback A.J. McKenna (6-5, 235) has signed and is on campus. McKenna joins Lackawanna verbals Mike Evans (LB, 6-0, 205) and Terrence Onyiuke (DL, 6-0, 282).

"I didn't want to go where I was needed," said Onyiuke, a Plainfield, N.J., native. "I wanted to go where I was wanted."

Running back commits

First-team all-state running back Meco Brown verbally committed to JSU during his visit Saturday. The 5-foot-6, 180-pounder from Moss Point ran for 1,331 yards and put up 2,042 all-purpose yards as a senior. He played in the Mississippi-Alabama game and scored 18 touchdowns during the season.

"The family atmosphere," Brown said. "When I came they treated me like family even though they just met me.

"I love it. They're trying to build something and I want to be part of that."

Brown chose JSU over Northern Illinois and Temple.