PDA

View Full Version : Montana State/Sam Houston 2011

acbearkat
December 9th, 2021, 09:11 PM
In the quarterfinals the Bobcats and Bearkats met up in Huntsville, with Sam Houston winning 42-13. I was a student at that time at Sam, and I was at the game. I don’t remember much about the game, and then the next week was beating Montana 31-28 at Bowers to go to the national championship game. The next year, the Kats went to Bozeman and beat Montana State in the quarterfinals and then beat Eastern Washington the next week in Cheney to make it back to the national championship game.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Go Lehigh TU owl
December 9th, 2021, 09:21 PM
In the quarterfinals the Bobcats and Bearkats met up in Huntsville, with Sam Houston winning 42-13. I was a student at that time at Sam, and I was at the game. I don’t remember much about the game, and then the next week was beating Montana 31-28 at Bowers to go to the national championship game. The next year, the Kats went to Bozeman and beat Montana State in the quarterfinals and then beat Eastern Washington the next week in Cheney to make it back to the national championship game.

While Rob Ash was a great guy he was not cut out to take Montana State to the next level nationally. Those McGee Montana State teams were sadly quite overrated. I lived in Bozeman during a time of great hype but little substance imo. Granted, Ash inherited a mess given the fact Kramer had little to no moral compass. Or so that was the narrative I heard....

Professor Chaos
December 9th, 2021, 09:39 PM

I am all for that 2011/2012 history repeating for Sam this year! ;)

Grizalltheway
December 10th, 2021, 11:38 AM

Sam had one good quarter in that one, and then it was pretty much all Griz. Came up just short, as the score would indicate. And then the whole program went to ****.

Katfan
December 10th, 2021, 12:01 PM