PDA

View Full Version : Move spring sports to summer?

jajfitz
July 7th, 2020, 07:01 AM
It seems better than 50-50 that 2020 fall sports will be moved to spring 2021. This will create a logistical log jam in many athletic departments. Is moving 2021 springs sports to summer 2021 feasible?

BEAR
July 7th, 2020, 07:12 AM
How can the fall sports in the north be moved to spring? I lived there and it’s still snowing and frozen if I recall. Maine in March is NOT football weather.

jajfitz
July 7th, 2020, 07:46 AM
I am not a weather expert but wouldn't playing in November-December in Maine be the same as March? I am picturing a shortened regular season (For football maybe only eight games. All league?) starting March 27, Ends May 22nd. A sixteen team playoff with the championship June 19. Spring sports start Memorial Day weekend with championships late August-Labor Day. I think having the CWS Labor Day weekend might be neat. Now. When to start the regular 2021 football season? Might have to wait until October. Have another shortened season of eight games in nine weeks.

dewey
July 7th, 2020, 08:32 AM
We get snow here in March, April and early May but I do not think it is too much different than October, November and December.

Now the hard part would be is typically imiddle to late December there are not too many teams playing but most if not all teams will be playing in March.

If that is what the NCAA, schools and health experts think is the best course of action to protect the student athletes, coaches and other staff i am all for it.

It does make you wonder would it be a full schedule because if it started in March and went through June there would not be much downtime between a spring season and a normal fall season in 2021.

How does that limited downtime affect student athletes ability to get healthy both physically and mentally after the season and before the next season.

Dewey

ST_Lawson
July 7th, 2020, 09:09 AM