PDA

View Full Version : Should Montana kicked the extra point after the game winning TD?

goyotes
August 29th, 2015, 10:45 PM
The TD put Montana up by 2. If (and I am not an expert on the rules) the Bison had blocked the extra point and returned it they would have received 2 points and tied the game. Would have been safer to go into victory formation and take a knee.

Bisonator
August 29th, 2015, 10:52 PM
The clock doesn't start on an extra point or 2 point try so they still had to kickoff. I think every coach in the country would try to make it a 3 point game.

Nickels
August 29th, 2015, 10:54 PM
In retrospect probably.

It's easy to say reflecting on it later but in the heat of the moment for new coach about to pull off an upset against the no. 1 team at home it was an easy thing to overlook.

In the end, it doesn't matter.

IBleedYellow
August 30th, 2015, 12:34 AM
In retrospect the best they could have done was went for 2.

RootinFerDukes
August 30th, 2015, 03:57 AM
First off, I don't think I've ever seen such a thing happen before. If you let that happen, you probably shouldn't win the game anyways.
There also isn't much point in worrying about a hypothetical when you won. It's a moot point.
To answer the question, no.

AshevilleApp2
August 30th, 2015, 04:54 AM
First off, I don't think I've ever seen such a thing happen before. If you let that happen, you probably shouldn't win the game anyways.
There also isn't much point in worrying about a hypothetical when you won. It's a moot point.

I've seen teams go for two in order to try and make it three point lead after a late touchdown. But a moot point all same.

CFBfan
August 30th, 2015, 07:57 AM
The TD put Montana up by 2. If (and I am not an expert on the rules) the Bison had blocked the extra point and returned it they would have received 2 points and tied the game. Would have been safer to go into victory formation and take a knee.