PDA

View Full Version : URI

Marchawg
October 31st, 2006, 03:21 PM
Ok, so I'm new to Div I-AA. I'll admit. I've spent my entire life watching Div 1-A ball, even went to Penn State (although I've always been a huge Florida Gators fan). I still love Div I-A games, but the lack of a playoff system really makes me cringe.

I started getting into Div I-AA when I saw the playoffs last year. Lots of great, exciting games. Plus the ultimate payoff, a real champion!

Enough of the backstory: I am going to be attending URI starting in the winter, and I'd like to get into their football program, but they seem to be completely miserable (along with their hideous uniforms). My question is.. was URI ever any good? More than that, does it look like they have improved any over the last few seasons? Quite obviously, they're still bottom of the barrel, but I can live with that if they are improving.

I watched part of the game against UMass a couple weeks ago and it was tough to watch.

So to shorten it all up: Is it worth getting into URI football, or should I just look for a different I-AA team to root for?

dbackjon
October 31st, 2006, 03:24 PM
Rhody's playoff history:

First Round Idaho State L 0-51

Quarterfinal Richmond W 23-17
Semi-final Montana State L 20-32

First Round Akron W 35-27
Quarterfinal Furman L 15-59

UMass922
October 31st, 2006, 03:31 PM
So to shorten it all up: Is it worth getting into URI football, or should I just look for a different I-AA team to root for?

If you go to URI, root for URI. If/when URI does have a good season, you'll feel great to have been with them all along, rather than becoming a mere bandwagon/fairweather fan.

mcveyrl
October 31st, 2006, 03:35 PM
If you go to URI, root for URI. If/when URI does have a good season, you'll feel great to have been with them all along, rather than becoming a mere bandwagon/fairweather fan.