PDA

View Full Version : Big South...

Lehigh Football Nation
May 30th, 2013, 01:25 PM
... is now down to 6 football-playing members.

Liberty - on the next bus to FBS, if it ever happens
Coastal Carolina - on the next bus to the SoCon/CAA, if it ever happens
Gardner-Webb
Presbyterian
Chuck South
Monmouth (in football only)

What's going to happen? Will they limp along with six members? Will they replace VMI with someone else, maybe a D-II moveup? Will Campbell become a scholarship program and get them up to 7 members?

Webzy
May 30th, 2013, 01:27 PM
Kennesaw State
West Georgia
Valdosta State

all three would be good choices.

Laker
May 30th, 2013, 01:33 PM
I've been hearing for several years that North Alabama wants to go D1. Maybe they will get an invite from the Big South.

FCS_pwns_FBS
May 30th, 2013, 01:33 PM
Kennesaw State
West Georgia
Valdosta State

all three would be good choices.

Kennesaw is a logical choice. Don't know if VSU or UWG have any interest in becoming DI, though. If they were interested they probably could've gotten a Big South invite for a while now. Both are solid DII programs.

rokamortis
May 30th, 2013, 01:36 PM
I'm hearing that University of Phoenix and the Tattoo Academy of Hoboken are near locks.

MarkyMark
May 30th, 2013, 01:38 PM
I've been hearing for several years that North Alabama wants to go D1. Maybe they will get an invite from the Big South.

North Alabama will be a good FCS program someday, they just need an invite. They are a little ways out of the Big South footprint but the travel would be nothing compared to what teams in the Midwest and out West face.

Otherwise is it time to consolidate some of the leagues out East? Seems like every conference along the East Coast (except for IVY) is looking for new members.

rokamortis
May 30th, 2013, 01:40 PM