PDA

View Full Version : Stadium Scruples

TheBisonator
July 5th, 2006, 06:05 PM
As probably not many of you know, I'm an architecture student with a deep interest in sports facilities design. Lately I have been drawing up some conceptual plans of a small stadium for DII team, and it made me think about the comparisons of other facilities with each other. It made me think about what fans would prefer in a stadium, and what makes one stadium better than another. I then came up with concepts for two imaginary I-AA stadiums, each with their high and low points, and thought about which one fans of I-AA teams would prefer. I'm wondering which of the following two you would prefer to have as a facility for your team after reading the descriptions and pros/cons of each facilities' attributes. This a pretty long post, so if you have ADD or something, you probably wouldn't want to read this. Here are the descriptions:

STADIUM 1

Generally speaking, this stadium is brand new, state-of-the-art, comfortable, fan-friendly, but is very small-time. It seats 2,500 people. This stadium was built recently in the past few years, and was designed for future expansion. The field consists of a brand-new top-of-the-line SprinTurf surface, but it is the field for not just the football team, but the lacrosse and soccer team as well. The beautifully-designed football field with colourful logos on the 50 and the endzones is sewn in along with the soccer field and lacrosse. The elaborate drainage system cost a pretty penny, and even in rainy games, the field stays in awesome shape. The cost for this facility was higher than the cost would be for a normal stadium of its size.