PDA

View Full Version : grayshirting, prop/48 @ contact periods?

whoanellie
February 10th, 2008, 10:00 PM
"Lucy?, you have some'splain'n to do"?
need some help guys with recruiting for 2008 wraping up can somebody help me with / or prop 48 if there are such things and the terms and qualifications and standards of grayshirting? non qualifiers? and contats for 2009 class? xconfusedx

WVAPPmountaineer
February 11th, 2008, 09:15 AM
My understanding of grayshirting is this (and I'm no expert, so I could be a little wrong) - A college is interested in said athlete for football but for one reason or another (lack of extra scholarhips, etc.) they ask the kid to grayshirt which could mean a couple of things - 1. the kid skips the first semester of college and then enrolls the 2nd semester for less than 12 hours - thus making him a part-time student and not using a year of eligibility or
2. he could enroll at a prep school for that first semester and then do the same for the second. Since he would not be a full time student he would most likely not be eligible for any type of financial help - thus the problem with doing this more than it is done --- I don't think the NCAA officially recognizes the term "grayshirt", so it is basically just a recruiting term ---

McTailGator
February 11th, 2008, 01:05 PM
"Lucy?, you have some'splain'n to do"?
need some help guys with recruiting for 2008 wraping up can somebody help me with / or prop 48 if there are such things and the terms and qualifications and standards of grayshirting? non qualifiers? and contats for 2009 class? xconfusedx

If a student is not a "Full Time" student (i.e, enrolls in 12 or less hours), than his elligability clock does not start officially with the NCAA. And that is regardless whether or not he is a Prop or not.

IF, he is a Prop., under the NCAA rules (Low HS GPA, or low ACT, or SAT), than he may not be offered a Grant-in-Aid for sports.