PDA

View Full Version : Playoff credibility

JMU1992
October 20th, 2007, 09:54 PM
The playoffs will have no credibility this year without ND St. The NCAA has to find a way to include them.

Blueandwhitefightfight
October 20th, 2007, 09:57 PM
In my opinion as a sports writer, I think the NCAA would lose credibility if they were to disregard the rules to let a team into the playoffs. The rules are there for a reason and if they were to grant a team an exception, they would set a precedent and also show a lack of regard for the rules.

crunifan
October 20th, 2007, 09:59 PM
NDSU knew the rules going in. They shouldn't be in the play offs this year. Next year is a different story.

If you could be eligible for the playoffs instantly, you would have DII schools jumping up every season just because they have a good team that season.

Reed Rothchild
North Dakota is going to have the same issues when they start playing their DI schedule...

spelunker64
We knew the rules when we made the move. Sure we're dissapointed and would love to be eligible, but it's so and won't be. This was discussed last year and was bound to be brought up again. We'll play out the year and if we go undefeated, sure we should have the #1 ranking, but that's all.

TexasTerror
October 20th, 2007, 10:00 PM
NDSU is just joining the majority of Division I -- namely the FBS folks -- who are not eligible to compete for a national championship this year.

If you feel bad for NDSU, I wonder if you feel bad for teams like Ohio State, Florida, LSU and the like who never compete for the national title...

Chi Panther
October 20th, 2007, 10:00 PM
The playoffs will have no credibility this year without ND St. The NCAA has to find a way to include them.

I agree with this....but here is the problem as well.

The NCAA would have UNI(#1-2), NDSU(#1-2) and Montana(#3) somehow all playing prior to the Championship Game......

We really need to get the seeding 1-16 again....

skinny_uncle
October 20th, 2007, 10:01 PM