PDA

View Full Version : SoCon Big Three

The Cats
October 14th, 2007, 04:30 PM
Conference parity or conference in decline?

What has happned to the SoCon "Big Three" (ASU, GSU, & FU) this year?

With the exception of ASU, the big three are no more, now it seems to be the BIG ONE - Wofford. What does this mean? has the middle teams of the conference caught up, or is the big three now just weaker?

blur2005
October 14th, 2007, 04:45 PM

With the exception of ASU, the big three are no more, now it seems to be the BIG ONE - Wofford. What does this mean? has the middle teams of the conference caught up, or is the big three now just weaker?
I'm no SoCon expert but I would say Furman is just having an off year while Georgia Southern is still in the process of adjusting to a new identity. Wofford has been strong in the past and App State is...well, App State.

catamount man
October 14th, 2007, 04:48 PM
Looks like the big 3 this season are ASU, The Citadel, and Elon.xeekx xthumbsupx

I'm happy for the Elon folks. Amazing what a coaching change can do to spark a program. Too bad we won't have that luxury this off season in Cullowhee.

GO CATS!!!

Saint3333
October 14th, 2007, 04:48 PM
I was unaware the SoCon was just Wofford and then everyone else...

ASU is slightly down from last year, but improving weekly (still a legit top 5 team)

Wofford is fielding probably their best team ever, yes better than the semifinalist team.

Furman is down

GSU is still down, but better than the 2006 team

Citadel is fielding their best team since the early 90's

Elon is fielding their best team by FAR since joining the SoCon

UTC - not sure, but appear to be abover their average season

WCU - not good...

I think the bottom half of the conference sans WCU is much better than usual. This is the most parity I've seen in the SoCon in over 5 years.

furman94
October 14th, 2007, 04:51 PM
Furman has everything this year; skill, talent, fans, expierence, everything but the coaches.