PDA

View Full Version : Hurricane relief

skinny_uncle
September 4th, 2005, 07:03 PM
I hear SIU is letting the Red Cross set up booths to take donations at their next home game. Anyone else out there considering this idea?

JMU2004
September 4th, 2005, 07:15 PM
JMU already did.....hopefully 15,000 people emptied thier pockets.

I've been spreading my donations out in $20 incriments......b/t work, school, and national drives....good to see the country donating so much

Hansel
September 4th, 2005, 07:26 PM
NDSU took donations at their home game last week as well

Umass74
September 4th, 2005, 08:17 PM
I have an embarrassing story to tell.

When I went to the Richmond-UMass game Thursday, someone stopped me just inside the entrance and asked for a donation for something (I didn’t hear what he said). I figured it was some kind of Spider athletic thing, so what the hell, I gave them a buck----figuring they might start a pep band or something.

Later in the game they announced that the collections were for the hurricane relief. No wonder the kid looked at me funny! :o

I’ve got a week to go on my vacation. We’re ending with a trip up to Hamilton to see the Colgate game.

As soon as I get back, I’ll send a check to the American Red Cross that will be a lot more than that lousy buck..

bobcatfan06
September 4th, 2005, 08:19 PM
Texas State took donations last night as well. Don't know how much was raised though, haven't heard a number. I think Texas State is also allowing a certain number of students from Tulane and UNO to attend Texas State for free. We are already really cramped as it is (27,000 students) so I think that is why they set a limit.

blukeys
September 4th, 2005, 08:20 PM