PDA

View Full Version : Top team in the Nation Game

65 Pard
August 27th, 2007, 08:40 AM
When I was an undergrad a LONG time ago, our College Newspaper justified a poor Lafayette team as no 1 in the country by virtue of a win against Temple, who had beaten a team that had beaten a top 25 team which in turn had beaten a higher ranked team, who had in turn beaten the no. 1 Team. I think there were 6 or 7 games in the chain....

So have at it, What team will you beat and in turn what team will they then beat etc. to make your squad best in nation, including BCS teams. Your no 1 ranking could occur at any week of your choice during the season.

Get the schedules out and have fun.

Carney, I challenge you to justify a Lafayette ranking above USC, Michigan etc....by virtue of one win....I'm guessing that win is over an Ivy team.....

BlueHen86
August 27th, 2007, 08:51 AM
I'll give it a try...

Delaware def. Navy
Navy def. Notre Dame (it has to happen someday...doesn't it?)
Notre Dame def. #1 USC

terrierbob
August 27th, 2007, 09:09 AM
ASU beats Michigan, Lenoir Rhyne defeats ASU, Tusculum beats LR, Tusculum's #1 in Div. II, FCS, and BCS.

carney2
August 27th, 2007, 09:13 AM
Carney, I challenge you to justify a Lafayette ranking above USC, Michigan etc....by virtue of one win....I'm guessing that win is over an Ivy team.....

As of today, I would be satisfied with a ranking above Colgate, Holy Cross and Lehigh. From that number 1 team in the 60s to this. How the mighty have fallen.

Oh yeah, if we are depending on a win over an Ivy team to make this happen, then . . . well, think about it.

th0m
August 27th, 2007, 09:59 AM
JMU beats UNC
who beats VT
who beats LSU (#2 right now, close enough ;))

Or replace UNC with W&M ;)

I remember a string a while back (think it was '04) where we defeated Maine who beat Miss. State who beat Florida.

65 Pard
August 27th, 2007, 10:22 AM