PDA

View Full Version : Weather Report

MYTAPPY
November 13th, 2006, 09:26 AM
After sitting through a Monsoon at the WCU/APP game, I got to thinking if this was the worst weather I had sat through for a football game. Yes...
Also last years So. Illinois/App playoff game was a rain and sleet mess that was nasty. One other game that came to mind was when I was a student (95 or 96) and the Citadel (I believe it was the Citadel) visited Boone. That day it started as rain and ended in snow.

What was the worst ever weather you sat through for a 1-AA game?

james_lawfirm
November 13th, 2006, 09:36 AM
After sitting through a Monsoon at the WCU/APP game, I got to thinking if this was the worst weather I had sat through for a football game. Yes...

Although the Western game was bad, it was nowhere near the worst. I recall a playoff game in Boone at least fifteen years ago against McNeese State (I think), where the game started at about 24 degrees and then the ice, wind, and sleet began. It got much worse from there. As I recall, App lost. But man, that was a long time ago. Perhaps someone has access to weather reports during past playoff games.

El_Cid_99
November 13th, 2006, 11:02 AM
'02 (maybe) VMI vs. Citadel game in Charlotte. It was raining when I went to bed the night before, when I woke up, when I got to the stadium, when the game kicked off, and when the game ended. A steady, driving rain that never let up. It was like Chinese water torture.

And I can think of a couple of season-opening games at The Citadel that were unwisely scheduled for 2 PM kickoffs, and the temperature was in the high 90's with humidity that would choke a horse.

walliver
November 13th, 2006, 11:13 AM