PDA

View Full Version : 91-0 HS FB win becomes a bullying scandal

Southern Bison
October 24th, 2013, 11:49 AM
http://www.breitbart.com/system/wire/DA9JHC6G0

Texas Dad alleges bullying in a high school football game

Texas high school coach Tim Buchanan benched his starters after only 21 plays, kept to a conservative ground game and even allowed the clock to run uninterrupted after halftime to hasten the final whistle. Still, his Bearcats won 91-0.

Now the coach is facing formal accusations of bullying.

As a dad, I'd be after my son's coaching staff for poor coaching. As a coach, I'd be questioning myself & my coaching techniques as well as there would be a come to Jesus meeting at the start of the next practice with the team and the asst. coaches.

IMO, I don't see any case of "bullying", just a really ****ty team that was beat by every member of the winning team. This whining dad sounds like a douche.

Bisonator
October 24th, 2013, 12:04 PM
I agree with you. He sounds like the kind of guy who wants his kid to get a participation award! I don't know what more the coach was supposed to do.

Skyhawk71
October 24th, 2013, 12:10 PM
Sorry, but you can't tell kids who may never start on varsity, and who get beat down in practice by future D1 players day in and day out not to score if they have the opportunity.........it is evident that Aledo did everything to not score- if you can't stop off tackle against the third string.............you might get beat 91-0.............

Smitty
October 24th, 2013, 12:53 PM
The article also mentioned that the winning team was placed in a new district that isn't as strong in football

catbob
October 24th, 2013, 01:17 PM
There are better ways to try and get the district playing field more level than crying "bully!".

At least it isn't as bad as it is in California where a coach can get fined for beating a team by x number of points. But I think that is pop warner football.

TennBison
October 24th, 2013, 01:31 PM